About Global Health Norway

Global Health Norway is a national arena for global health research, education and capacity strengthening.

What is Global Health Norway?

Global Health Norway is a network of the major Norwegian institutions in the educational, hospital and research institute sectors involved in global health activities, including research, education and capacity strengthening. Read more about the partner institutions.

The aims of the network are, among others, to

  • Facilitate high quality in global health research and education in Norway
  • Inform the public about Norwegian efforts and activities in global Health
  • Maintain an overview of global health projects and funding opportunities
  • Promote interregional and intersectoral collaboration on research proposals
  • Promote collaboration between the hospital sector, educational sector, the national research council, NGOs, the private sector and Norad

What is global health?

Global health is defined as efforts toward "improved Health for the world population, reduced health inequalities, and solutions to cross-border and cross-sectoral health challenges. These efforts include disease prevention, robust Health systems, universal access to good health care and health security for all. (...) Global Health cannot be reduced to development cooperation. The global health agenda also includes regional and bilateral arenas, and is in no way limited to the poorest countries. (...) The complexity of the global health challenges necessitates flexibility and ability to merge perspectives from different policy areas."

Source: Norwegian government white paper no. 11 (2011–2012) "Global helse i utenriks- og utviklingspolitikken", page 8: Link. [Our translation.]


Minutes from Board Meetings

All minutes are in Norwegian


Editorial policy

  • The Global Health Norway website should be the most important hub for information for Health personnel, research councils, researchers, students, policy makers and the public about global health activities in Norway.
  • All articles are published with a named author.
  • All articles should explicitly state that the views reflected are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the views of Global Health Norways Board or other bodies.
  • The Head of the Secretariat is the Editor-in-Chief of the website.

Board

Björn Gustafsson

Norwegian University of Science and Technology

Board Member

bjorn.gustafsson@ntnu.no

Pål Iden

Western Norway Regional Health Authority

Board Member

paal.iden@helse-vest.no

Nina Langeland

University of Bergen

Chair of the Board

nina.langeland@uib.no

Frode Vartdal

University of Oslo

Board Member

frode.vartdal@uio.no

Henrik A. Sandbu

Central Norway Regional Health Authority

Board Member

henrik.sandbu@helse-midt.no

Sameline Grimsgaard

University of Tromsø

Board Member

sameline.grimsgaard@uit.no

Geir Tollåli

Northern Norway Regional Health Authority

Board Member

geir.tollali@helse-nord.no​

Bjørn Iversen

Norwegian Institute of Public Health

Board Member

bjorn.iversen@fhi.no

Øystein Kruger

Southern and Eastern Norway Regional Health Authority

Board Member

Oystein.Kruger@helse-sorost.no

Observers

Ingvar Theodor Evjen Olsen

Norad

Observer

Ingvar.Theo.Olsen@norad.no

Åse-Marit Kristiansen

Norwegian Research Council

Observer

amk@forskningsradet.no

Randi Reinertsen

SINTEF

Observer

randi.e.reinertsen@sintef.no

Ottar Mæstad

Chr. Michelsen Institute (CMI)

Observer

ottar.maestad@cmi.no

Secretariat

Bente Moen

University of Bergen

Head of Secretariat

bente.moen@uib.no

Ingvild Hope

University of Bergen

Deput Head of Secretariat

ingvild.hope@uib.no

Gunhild Koldal

University of Bergen

Member of Secretariat

gunhild.koldal@uib.no

Eirik Vikum

Norwegian Institute of Public Health

Member of Secretariat

eirik.vikum@fhi.no